Hotel Eiger Mürren
First generation
Johann and Anneliese von Allmen-Feuz build the Hotel Eiger in 1892
Second generation
Mimi and Adolf von-Allmen run the hotel from 1932 onwards
Third generation
In August 1964, Annelis married Walter Stähli from Brienz and the family business entered its third generation.
Fourth generation
In 2007, Susanna and Adrian Stähli, the fourth generation, supported by sister Sandra and mum Anneliese, took over the business.
... and today
Since 2022, the façade has also shone in new "Swiss larch wood".
Previous
Next

A family affair since 1892

Mürren and the Hotel Eiger

The Hotel Eiger was built in 1892 by Johann and Anneliese von Allmen-Feuz. After countless conversions and extensions, Susanna and Adrian Stähli are now looking after the guests in the 4th generation. Below you can immerse yourself in the history of the village and our Hotel Eiger - but the best way is to experience our history and our village first hand.
We look forward to seeing you!
We look forward to seeing you!

History - Key figures of Mürren and the Hotel Eiger:

Historical key figures of Mürren and the Hotel Eiger:

1257
First documented mention of Mürren, the village "on the wall". The village is an old Walser settlement, which can still be seen today in the way the houses are built and the colouring of the Mürren dialect. It is assumed that the first people came from the Walser valley via the Wetterlücke.

1789
Opening of the first school. 23 children (out of 105 inhabitants) attended it.

1857
Heinrich von Allmen of the Winteregg mountain community built the first inn, the simple "Hotel Silberhorn".

1870
The tenant of the Hotel Silberhorn built his own hotel, the "Hotel Mürren", in front of the Hotel Silberhorn. Later, the two houses were combined to form the "Grand Hotel and Kurhaus" and developed into a successful large business in the 1980s.

1872
The stately Hotel des Alpes (today's Palace) was opened.

1884
The Hotel des Alpes was destroyed by fire during a Föhn storm and then rebuilt more beautifully and better as the Grand Hotel des Alpes. Mürren's heyday as a successful health resort began. Noblemen, politicians, poets, painters and scholars sought relaxation and inspiration here.

1889
Construction of the Lauterbrunnen-Mürren mountain railway (BLM) begins. Until now, travellers had reached the village via the Lauterbrunnen-Mürren and Stechelberg-Gimmelwald-Mürren footpaths.

1891
The BLM was inaugurated. The number of travellers to Mürren increased by leaps and bounds. The railway only ran in the summer.

1892
The Hotel Eiger was built by Johann and Anneliese von Allmen-Feuz. The building, two storeys and a flat roof, was to be completed by 1 July 1892, and the restaurant hall was to be ready for use on 1 June. The costs amounted to CHF 15,600. A few years later, the dining room was added and the building was raised to four floors. The hotel was also made winter-proof with the installation of a heating system.

1894
The owner of the "Grand Hotel and Kurhaus" built a horse-drawn tram that ran from the BLM station to the Kurhaus. With a gauge of 50 cm and a length of 455 m, the railway was the narrowest and shortest narrow-gauge railway in Switzerland. The Rösslitram was in operation from 1894-1914 and 1923-1930 during the summer season. It is on display today at the BLM station.

1903
After Mürren had previously only been visited in summer, the first skiers appeared in December.

1910
The Mürren cable car started its winter operation, which marked the beginning of Mürren's history as a successful winter sports resort. English tourists in particular loved the winter sports and the sophisticated atmosphere of the large hotels in Mürren.

1910
In August, the airship pioneer Eduard Schweizer, known as Spelterini, succeeded in making the first crossing of the Alps with his balloon "Sirius" from Mürren to Turin.

1911/12
Natural ice rink at the Hotel Des Alpes. "Official" curling began with the founding of the Mürren Curling Club by Britons on 26 February, which no longer exists today.

1912
The Mürren Ski Club was founded on 20 January.

1912
Inauguration of the Allmendhubelbahn. In the beginning, it was a purely winter railway that took its guests comfortably up to the Allmendhubel to the then newly built bobsleigh run.

1919
The Hotel Alpenruh burned down completely.

1922
On 21 January, Sir Arnold Lunn (1888-1974) flagged off the world's first Alpine slalom race next to the Hotel Jungfrau.

1924
On 30 January the Kandahar Ski Club is founded by Sir Arnold Lunn and 8 other Britons (3 of whom are ladies) with the aim of promoting downhill, slalom and recognition of alpine skiing at international level.

1926
After days of stormy south winds, fire broke out on 18 November. The fire brigades of Wengen and Lauterbrunnen came to the rescue on foot from Stechelberg, as the BLM was suspended for repairs. The major fire destroyed the hotels
Edelweiss, Amstutz (today's Alpina) and Des Alpes. After that, the fire ate its way up into the Aegerten forest and
out of the valley, where it threatened Lauterbrunnen. The following day, the föhn broke down and the rain extinguished the fires.

1928
On 29 January, after a five-hour ascent, 18 participants, including 4 ladies, started on the Schilthorn for the first Inferno race to Lauterbrunnen. The winner was Harold Mitchell (1 hr. 12 min.), 4th place went to Doreen Elliott (1 hr. 22 min.), although she had looked after an injured colleague on the way.

1930
Mürrner founded one of the first ski schools in Switzerland.

1931
From 19 to 22 February, the first Alpine World Championships in Slalom and Downhill were held in Mürren.

1932
Foundation of the Kandahar shoe manufactory. The location was in the Montana house on the lower Dorfstrasse.

ca. 1932
Johann and Anneliese's two sons die young; one of influenza, the other in an accident on a ski tour. The hotel passed from "Eiger Hans" to his nephew, "Post Adolf", and thus remained in the family.

1934
Foundation of the Mürren-Tächi Curling Club.

1937
The need for uphill skiing grew. The English in particular favoured not too fast descents with an easy ascent. So the "Schiltgrat", the first ski lift in the Bernese Oberland, began operating in 1937.

1936-45
Adolf engaged the hotelier's daughter Mimi Isele from Weggis as his secretary. Mimi stayed on and the couple married in November 1936. Their children, Annelis, born in October 1937, and Beat, born in October 1941, still remember the troubled war years when the hotel was used to house Italian internees.

1957
The 1st Alpine Course Centre in Switzerland (today's Sportchalet) is opened.

1960
Adolf succumbed to a heart attack on 23 December 1960 at the age of 59. Annelis had already gained valuable experience after attending hotel management school and helped Mimi to continue running the business. Mimi started a long renovation and extension phase with the construction of the new coffee kitchen, the laundry and the Tächi Bar.

1962
Foundation of the International High-Alpine Ballooning Weeks by the balloon pioneer Fred Dolder and the then spa director Erwin A. Sauter-Hewitt.

1964
In August 1964 Annelis married Walter Stähli from Brienz and the family business went into the third generation. Walter had many plans and every off-season building work was done. First the staff house was built, then the fourth floor with the two gables was demolished and a new roof was built.

1965-67
The Schilthornbahn was built on the initiative of Ernst Feuz and Walter Amstutz from Mürren. In 1965 the first three
Sections of the Stechelberg-Mürren-Birg opened. The fourth section, the summit section from Birg to the Schilthorn and the summit building, was the most difficult construction phase. It was opened in 1967.

1968/70
The two children of Annelis and Walter wer born, Sandra, May 1968, and Adrian in October 1970.

1968/69
The Schilthorn, the cable car and the steep snow slopes formed the setting for the most exciting scenes in the James Bond film "On Her Majesty's Secret Service". From October 1968 to April 1969, an army of helpers transformed the Schilthorn summit into the "Piz Gloria". Among other things, a landing pad for helicopters was also built.

1977
In order to upgrade the Hotel Eiger to four stars, the new Eiger Residence with indoor swimming pool, sauna and conference room was built. The financing came from the partial sale of the apartments in the building.

1983
The Alpine Sports Centre Mürren opens its doors.

1994
The dining room was extended and the new suites above were built at the same time.

1995
Enlargement of the hotel terrace. Underneath, a wine cellar was built and the Eiger Stübli expanded.

1997
Walter passed away quite unexpectedly in January. Sandra and Adrian got involved and the hotel could be taken over by the family.
In autumn, the renovation of the fourth floor began. Every year, another floor was added - until
the house was up to date.

1998
Start of the 1st Inferno Triathlon, which leads from Thun via Meiringen, Grosse Scheidegg, Grindelwald, Kleine Scheidegg, Lauterbrunnen and Mürren to the Schilthorn.

2002
Total renovation of the entrance area with the reception and hotel lobby.

2006
The BLM's funicular railway had always been located in a landslide area. Its operation was at risk, which is why the funicular had to be replaced by an aerial cableway. The operation of the old funicular was stopped on 15 April, the new aerial cableway was opened on 16 December.

2007
The 1st Whitestyle Open Contest takes place. In the meantime, the event has established itself as a fixed component of the Mürren winter with the Big Air Contest "Night Air" and the Freeride Sessions.

2007
With the marriage of Adrian Stähli and Susanna Schmelzle in June 2007, the fourth generation took over the business.

2008
Opening of the via ferrata Mürren-Gimmelwald with a length of 2.2 km and a difference in altitude of 300 m.

2012
The Alpine Sports Centre was completely renovated and reopened on 14 December after about nine months of construction.

2013-15
Renovation of all hotel rooms and suites.

2016
On Birg, the Schilthorn cable car opened the "Thrill Walk" rock path.

2016/17
The facilities at the Hotel Eiger have been expanded with an intermediate building. In addition to a new multifunctional room for events and seminars, guests now also have access to a wellness area. At the same time, the staff house was enlarged and renovated.

2020
The rear ice rink at the Alpine Sports Centre has been roofed over. This makes it possible to hold curling tournaments in all weather conditions. In addition, the roof is now also used for large events such as the village festival.

2020-23
The BLM is being completely renovated. The Grütschalp, Winteregg and Mürren stations have been or will be converted for disabled access and new trains will be in service from the end of 2023.

2021/22
The entire exterior façade of the Eiger was completely renovated. The house is now clad in Swiss larch wood.

from 2022
Start of construction of the major project "Schilthornbahn 20XX". The cable car will be modernised and expanded by 2026. The
Conveying capacity will be increased on all sections and Stechelberg-Mürren freight and luggage logistics will be improved.

Scroll to Top

Hotel Eiger Mürren
Erste Generation
Johann und Anneliese von Allmen-Feuz erbauen das Hotel Eiger im Jahr 1892
Zweite Generation
Mimi und Adolf von-Allmen führen das Hotel ab 1932
Dritte Generation
Im August 1964 heiratete Annelis Walter Stähli aus Brienz und der Familienbetrieb ging in die dritte Generation.
Vierte Generation
2007 übernimmt mit Susanna und Adrian Stähli die vierte Generation – unterstützt von Schwester Sandra und Mama Anneliese den Betrieb.
... und heute
Seit 2022 erstrahlt auch die Fassade in neuem "Schweizer Lärchenholz"
Vorherige
Weiter

Eine Familienangelegenheit seit 1892

Mürren und das Hotel Eiger

Im 1892 wurde das Hotel Eiger von Johann und Anneliese von Allmen-Feuz gebaut. Nach unzähligen Um- und Anbauten kümmern sich heute Susanna und Adrian Stähli in der 4. Generation um die Gäste. Nachfolgend können Sie in die Historie vom Dorf «auf der Mauer» und unserem Hotel Eiger eintauchen – doch am besten erleben Sie unsere Geschichte und unser Dorf hautnah.
Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Historie – Kennzahlen von Mürren und dem Hotel Eiger:

Historische Kennzahlen von Mürren und dem Hotel Eiger:

1257
Erste urkundliche Erwähnung von Mürren, dem Dorf «auf der Mauer». Das Dorf ist eine alte Walsersiedlung, was man noch heute an der Hausbauweise und der Färbung der Mürrner Mundart erkennen kann. Man vermutet, dass die Lötscher aus dem Walsertal über die Wetterlücke kamen.

1789
Eröffnung der ersten Schule. 23 Kinder (bei 105 Einwohnern) besuchten sie.

1857
Heinrich von Allmen von der Bergschaft Winteregg erbaute das erste Gasthaus, das einfache «Hotel Silberhorn».

1870
erbaute der Pächter des Hotels Silberhorn vor dem Hotel Silberhorn sein eigenes Hotel, das «Hotel Mürren». Später wurden die beiden Häuser zum «Grand Hotel und Kurhaus» miteinander verbunden und entwickelten sich in den 80er Jahren des 19. Jahrhunderts zum erfolgreichen Grossbetrieb.

1872
wurde das stattliche Hotel des Alpes (das heutige Palace) eröffnet.

1884
Das Hotel des Alpes wurde bei einem Föhnsturm durch einen Brand zerstört und danach als Grand Hotel des Alpes schöner und besser errichtet. Die Blütezeit Mürrens als erfolgreicher Kurort begann. Adelige, Politiker, Dichter, Maler und Gelehrte suchen hier Erholung und Inspiration.

1889
Beginn des Baus der Bergbahn Lauterbrunnen-Mürren (BLM). Bisher waren Reisende über den Fussweg Lauterbrunnen-Mürren und Stechelberg-Gimmelwald-Mürren ins Dorf gelangt.

1891
Die BLM wurde eingeweiht. Die Zahl der Reisenden nach Mürren stieg sprunghaft an. Die Bahn fuhr nur im Sommer.

1892
Das Hotel Eiger wurde von Johann und Anneliese von Allmen-Feuz gebaut. Das Gebäude, zwei Etagen und ein Flachdach, sollte bis am 1. Juli 1892 fertig erstellt sein, der Restaurationssaal sollte schon am 1. Juni benutzbar sein. Die Kosten betrugen CHF 15‘600.-. Einige Jahre später erfolgte der Anbau des Speisesaal und die Erhöhung auf vier Etagen. Auch wurde das Hotel mit dem Einbau einer Heizung wintertauglich gemacht.

1894
Der Besitzer des «Grand Hotels und Kurhaus» erstellte ein Rösslitram, welches vom Bahnhof der BLM bis zum Kurhausfuhr. Die Bahn war mit 50 cm Spurweite und 455 m Länge die schmalste und kürzeste Schmalspurbahn der Schweiz. Das Rösslitram war von 1894-1914 und 1923-1930 in der Sommersaison in Betrieb. Es ist heute an der BLM Station ausgestellt.

1903
Nachdem Mürren bis anhin nur im Sommer besucht wurde, tauchten im Dezember erste Skiläufer auf.

1910
Die Mürrenbahn nahm ihren Winterbetrieb auf, womit Mürrens Geschichte als erfolgreicher Wintersportort begann. Besonders englische Touristen liebten den Wintersport und die mondäne Atmosphäre der grossen Hotels in Mürren.

1910
Im August glückte dem Luftschiffpionier Eduard Schweizer, genannt Spelterini, mit seinem Ballon «Sirius» von Mürren nach Turin die erste Alpenüberquerung.

1911/12
Natureisbahn beim Hotel Des Alpes. Das „offizielle“ Curling begann mit der am 26. Februar durch Briten erfolgten Gründung des Mürren Curling Clubs, der heute nicht mehr existiert.

1912
Am 20. Januar wurde der Skiclub Mürren gegründet.

1912
Einweihung der Allmendhubelbahn. Sie war am Anfang eine reine Winterbahn, die ihre Gäste bequem auf den Allmendhubel zur damals neu erbauten Bobbahn brachte.

1919
Das Hotel Alpenruh brannte vollständig ab.

1922
Am 21. Januar flaggte Sir Arnold Lunn (1888-1974) das erste Alpine Slalomrennen der Welt neben dem Hotel Jungfrau aus.

1924
Am 30. Januar wird der Kandahar Ski-Club von Sir Arnold Lunn und 8 weiteren Briten (wovon 3 Damen) gegründet, der die Förderung von Abfahrt, Slalom und die Anerkennung des alpinen Skisports auf internationaler Ebene als Zielsetzung hatte.

1926
Nach tagelangem Föhn brach am 18. November Feuer aus. Die Feuerwehren von Wengen und Lauterbrunnen kamen zu Fuss von Stechelberg zu Hilfe, da die BLM wegen Reparaturen eingestellt war. Der Grossbrand zerstörte die Hotels
Edelweiss, Amstutz (das heutige Alpina) und Des Alpes. Danach frass sich das Feuer hinauf in den Aegertenwald und
talauswärts, wo es Lauterbrunnen bedrohte. Am Folgetag brach der Föhn zusammen und der Regen löschte die Brände.

1928
Am 29. Januar starteten am Schilthorn nach einem fünfstündigen Aufstieg 18 Teilnehmer, darunter 4 Damen, zum ersten Inferno Rennen nach Lauterbrunnen. Sieger wurde Harold Mitchell (1 Std. 12 Min.), den 4. Rang belegte Doreen Elliott (1 Std. 22 Min.), obwohl sie unterwegs eine verunglückte Kollegin versorgt hatte.

1930
gründeten Mürrner eine der ersten Skischulen der Schweiz.

1931
Vom 19. bis 22. Februar wurden in Mürren die ersten Alpinen Weltmeisterschaften in Slalom und Abfahrt ausgetragen.

1932
Gründung der Kandahar-Schuhmanufaktur. Standort war im Haus Montana an der unteren Dorfstrasse.

ca. 1932
Die beiden Söhne von Johann und Anneliese sterben jung; der eine an der Grippe, der andere verunglückte auf einer Skitour. Das Hotel ging vom „Eiger Hans“ an seinen Neffen, den „Post Adolf“, über und blieb der Familie so erhalten.

1934
Gründung des Curling Clubs Mürren-Tächi.

1937
Der Bedarf an Aufstiegsmöglichkeiten für die Skifahrer wuchs. Gerade die Engländer favorisierten nicht allzu schnelle Abfahrten bei leichtem Aufstieg. So nahm der der „Schiltgrat“, der erste Skilift im Berner Oberland, 1937 seinen Betrieb auf.

1936-45
Adolf verpflichtete die Hotelierstochter Mimi Isele aus Weggis als Sekretärin. Mimi blieb und das Paar heiratete im November 1936. Ihre Kinder, Annelis, geb. im Oktober 1937, und Beat, geb. im Oktober 1941, erinnern sich noch an die sorgenvollen Kriegsjahre, als das Hotel zur Unterkunft der italienischen Internierten diente.

1957
Das 1. Alpine Kurszentrum der Schweiz (das heutige Sportchalet) wird eröffnet.

1960
Adolf erlag am 23. Dezember 1960 mit 59 Jahren einem Herzinfarkt. Annelis hatte nach dem Besuch der Hotelfachschule schon wertvolle Erfahrungen gesammelt und half Mimi den Betrieb weiter zu führen. Mimi startete eine lange Umbau- und Anbauphase mit dem Neubau der Kaffeeküche, der Wäscherei und der Tächi Bar.

1962
Gründung der Internationalen hochalpinen Ballonsportwochen durch den Ballonpionier Fred Dolder und den damaligen Kurdirektor Erwin A. Sauter-Hewitt.

1964
Im August 1964 heiratete Annelis Walter Stähli aus Brienz und der Familienbetrieb gingin die dritte Generation. Walter hatte viele Pläne und jede Zwischensaison wurde gebaut. Zuerst wurde das Personalhaus errichtet, dann wurde der vierte Stock mit den beiden Giebeln abgerissen und ein neues Dach erstellt.

1965-67
Auf Initiative der Mürrner Ernst Feuz und Walter Amstutz wurde die Schilthornbahn gebaut. 1965 wurden die ersten drei
Sektionen der Stechelberg-Mürren-Birg eröffnet. Die vierte Sektion, die Gipfelstrecke von Birg aufs Schilthorn und das Gipfelgebäude, war der schwierigste Bauabschnitt. Sie konnte 1967 eröffnet werden.

1968/70
Die beiden Kinder von Annelis und Walter, Sandra, geb. Mai 1968, und Adrian, geb. Oktober 1970, wurden geboren.

1968/69
Das Schilthorn, die Luftseilbahn und die steilen Schneehänge bildeten den Schauplatz der spannendsten Szenen im James-Bond-Film «Im Geheimdienst Ihrer Majestät». In der Zeit von Oktober 1968 bis April 1969 verwandelte ein Heer von Helfern den Schilthorngipfel in den «Piz Gloria». Unter anderem wurde auch ein Landeplatz für Helikopter gebaut.

1977
Um das Hotel Eiger auf vier Sterne aufzuwerten, erfolgte der Neubau der Eiger Residence mit Hallenbad, Sauna und dem Konferenzraum. Die Finanzierung erfolgte über den teilweisen Verkauf der erstellten Eigentumswohnungen im Gebäude.

1983
Das Alpine Sportzentrum Mürren öffnet seine Tore.

1994
Der Speisesaal wurde erweitert und gleichzeitig erfolgte der Neubau der darüber liegenden Suiten.

1995
Vergrösserung der Hotelterrasse. Darunter wurde ein Weinkeller gebaut und das Eiger Stübli erweitert.

1997
Walter verstarb ganz unerwartet im Januar. Sandra und Adrian engagierten sich und der Betrieb konnte von der Familie
weitergeführt werden. Im Herbst fing die Renovation der vierten Etage an. Jedes Jahr kam eine weitere Etage dazu – bis
das Haus auf dem neusten Stand war.

1998
Start zum 1. Inferno Triathlon, der von Thun via Meiringen, Grosse Scheidegg, Grindelwald, Kleine Scheidegg, Lauterbrunnen und Mürren auf das Schilthorn führt.

2002
Totalrenovierung des Eingangsbereichs mit der Rezeption und Hotelhalle.

2006
Die Standseilbahn der BLM befand sich seit jeher in einem Rutschgebiet. Der Betrieb war gefährdet, weshalb die Standseilbahn durch eine Luftseilbahn ersetzt werden musste. Der Betrieb der alten Standseilbahn wurde am 15. April eingestellt, die neue Luftseilbahn wurde am 16. Dezember eröffnet.

2007
Der 1. Whitestyle Open Contest findet statt. Mittlerweile hat sich der Anlass mit dem Big Air Contest «Night Air» und den Freeride Sessions zum festen Bestandteil des Mürrner Winters etabliert.

2007
Mit der Heirat von Adrian Stähli und Susanna Schmelzle im Juni 2007 übernahm die vierte Generation den Betrieb.

2008
Eröffnung des Klettersteigs Mürren-Gimmelwald mit einer Länge 2.2 km und einer Höhendifferenz von 300 m.

2012
Das Alpine Sportzentrum wurde komplett saniert und nach rund neunmonatiger Bauzeit am 14. Dezember wieder eröffnet.

2013-15
Renovation aller Hotelzimmer und Suiten.

2016
Auf Birg eröffnete die Schilthornbahn den Felsensteig «Thrill Walk».

2016/17
Das Angebot im Hotel Eiger wurde mit einem Zwischenbau ausgebaut. Nebst einem neuen Multifunktionsraum für Anlässe und Seminare steht den Gästen nun auch ein Wellnessbereich zur Verfügung. Gleichzeitig wurde auch das Personalhaus vergrössert und saniert.

2020
Die hintere Eisbahn beim Alpinen Sportzentrum wurde überdacht. Das ermöglicht die Durchführung von Curlingturnieren bei allen Witterungen. Zusätzlich wird die Überdachung nun auch für grosse Anlässe wie zum Beispiel das Dorffest genutzt.

2020-23
Die BLM wird komplett saniert. Die Stationen Grütschalp, Winteregg und Mürren wurden bzw. werden behindertengerecht umgebaut und ab Ende 2023 werden neue Züge im Einsatz sein.

2021/22
Die gesamte Aussenfassade des Eigers wurde komplett saniert. Das Haus ist nun mit Schweizer Lärchenholz verkleidet.

ab 2022
Baustart des Grossprojekts «Schilthornbahn 20XX». Die Luftseilbahn wird bis ins 2026 modernisiert und ausgebaut. Die
Förderleistung wird auf allen Teilstrecken erhöht und die Güter- und Gepäcklogistik Stechelberg-Mürren wird verbessert.

Nach oben blättern